It turns out that when you delete your Google accounts, Google unsubscribes you from any (public and private) Google Groups you’re a member of. I found out about this only because my inbox traffic these past couple of days felt unusually light so I went and looked at racket-users and, lo and behold, there were a bunch of new posts I hadn’t received.
I get it. They want to avoid sending emails to an address that, from their perspective, no longer exists. Makes sense, although they could certainly tell you that you’re gonna be unsubscribed when you cancel, maybe even throw in a list of all the groups you’re currently subscribed to for good measure.
What annoys me, though, is how hard they make it for someone who
doesn’t have a Google account to join a Google Group. If you visit a
group and you’re not logged in, there’s no way for you to join via the
UI that’s presented to you. This makes it seem like you can’t join
unless you create an account, but that’s not the case! If you append
/join to any Google Group URL, you’ll be presented with a modal
dialog that you can use to subscribe. So to join
you can visit this URL.
If you were wondering about how to join a group without a Google account, now you know! And if you’re considering starting a new mailing list, I urge you to take this factor into consideration and maybe use something like groups.io or lists.sr.ht instead.